Why people leave their job. Working as a medium and predicting the future.

It was just entertainment, after all, until the cursed man came in. The one who’d seen the Catholic priest.

“Get to a doctor,” I told him. “Now.”

That very week, I’d typed letters for a neurologist who specialized in brain diseases. Some of those letters had documented strikingly similar symptoms to this man.

“Are you saying I’m crazy?” he said, his hands balled.

“No,” I reassured him. “But Catholic priests know what they’re doing. If he couldn’t help, this isn’t a curse.”

That made the man angrier.

“You’re a fraud!” he shouted, and stormed downstairs to demand his money back.

The encounter shook me, badly. Shortly afterwards, I packed my astrology books and Tarot cards away for good.

I can still make the odd forecast, though. Here’s one: the venture capital pouring into astrology apps will create a fortune telling system that works, because humans are predictable. As people follow the advice, the apps’ predictive powers will increase, creating an ever-tighter electronic leash. But they’ll be hugely popular – because if you sprinkle magic on top, you can sell people anything.

From a Guardian article, written by someone who used to work as a medium. Narrative building out of (sometimes insufficient) familiar and unfamiliar information is an increasingly valued skill. The former role of sources like newspapers bringing people information in fairly homogenous formats is being replaced with a much broader range of sources. Some of them are reliable blogs, others are horoscope apps. As someone in my office said, people know it’s not ‘true’ but they like to read it and find something reassuring in it on bad days. Not ‘just entertainment’ after all. Maybe the rise of astrology is not so harmless?

Also this:

What broke the spell for me was, oddly, people swearing by my gift. Some repeat customers claimed I’d made very specific predictions, of a kind I never made. It dawned on me that my readings were a co-creation – I would weave a story and, later, the customer’s memory would add new elements. I got to test this theory after a friend raved about a reading she’d had, full of astonishingly accurate predictions. She had a tape of the session, so I asked her to play it.

The clairvoyant had said none of the things my friend claimed. Not a single one. My friend’s imagination had done all the work.

Overall the article is an excellent case study in what motivates people at work and why they leave jobs.

Recommended.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.